Course Description

Thursday, February 21

test 8

Wednesday, February 20

quiz 8.2;
test 8 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 19

discussed p.522;
worked sample problems from the last two lessons;
quiz 8.2 tomorrow;
test 8 on Thursday

Monday, February 18

discussed operations with vectors in 3-D space;
worked sample problems from the problem set;
p.522 #2-12, 16-22 even


Friday, February 15

discussed quiz 8.1;
discussed vectors in 3-D space;
worked sample problems from the problem set;
p.514 #10-14, 26, 28, 36-40 even

Thursday, February 14

quiz 8.1;
read:  pp. 510-513 (vectors in 3-D space)

Wednesday, February 13

discussed p.506;
reviewed what we’ve done so far in chapter 8;
quiz 8.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 12

discussed p.497;
discussed vector dot product;
discussed vector projections;
p.506#2-20, 26-28 even

Monday, February 11

discussed p.488;
discussed conventions for representing vectors;
worked samples from the problem set;
p.497#2-8, 12-16, 20-22, 28-30, 38-48 even


Friday, February 8

defined vectors & contrasted them with scalars;
discussed 3 systems of measuring angle;
demonstrated how to do a vector addition;
p.488 #2-12, 20-26, 36 even

Thursday, February 7

test 7;
read:  pp.482-487 (vectors)

Wednesday, February 6

discussed quiz 7.2;
test 7 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 5

quiz 7.2;
test 7 on Thursday

Monday, February 4

reviewed parametric equations and parabolas;
quiz 7.2 over hyperbolas and parametric equations tomorrow


Friday, January 25

many absent, due to Acrofest;
worked problems on p. 469

Thursday, January 24

discussed parametric equations in context with free-fall motion;
worked problems from the problem set;
p.469 #2-6, 10-14, 18-22 even

Wednesday, January 23

discussed Monday’s quiz;
worked a problem dealing with hyperbolas;
read:  pp. 464-468 (parametric equations)

Tuesday, January 22

discussed the properties of hyperbolas;
p.449 #2-6, 12-16, 24-28 even

Monday, January 21

quiz 7.1;
read:  pp.442-448 (hyperbolas)


Friday, January 18

discussed p.438;
worked problems from the last 2 sections;
quiz over parabolas, circles, and ellipses on Monday

Thursday, January 17

discussed p.428;
defined/discussed/demonstrated the equations for an ellipse;
p.438 #2-10, 14-16, 24-30 even

Wednesday, January 16

discussed test 6;
defined/discussed/demonstrated the equations for a parabola;
p.428 #2-6, 16-18, 26-28, 36-38 even

Tuesday, January 15

test 6;
read:  pp. 422-427 (conic sections)

Monday, January 14

discussed p.402;
worked additional examples from the problem set;
test 6 tomorrow


Friday, January 11

no class, due to community service day

Thursday, January 10

discussed quiz 6.1;
discussed partial fraction decomposition;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.402 #2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 16, 20, 22

Wednesday, January 9

quiz 6.1;
read:  pp.398-401 (partial fractions)

Tuesday, January 8

discussed p.392;
quiz 6.1 tomorrow

Monday, January 7

discussed p.383;
reviewed inverse matrixes, determinants, and Cramer’s rule;
p.392 #2-6, 12-18, 22-24, 28 even


Friday, January 4

discussed matrix multiplication, determinants, and inverse matrixes;
p.383 #2-6, 12-14, 20-24, 28, 32, 36-42 even

Thursday, January 3

discussed problems on p.372 (due tomorrow);
read:  pp.381-391 (wave properties and behavior)

Wednesday, January 2

briefly discussed the semester exam;
discussed/demonstrated Gaussian elimination;
p.372 #2-6, 10-12, 16-26, 32-34 even


Friday, December 14

reviewed problems from earlier in the semester;
continue reviewing chapters 1-5 for the semester exam

Thursday, December 13

discussed test 5;
continue reviewing chapters 1-5 for the semester exam

Wednesday, December 12

began reviewing chapters 1-5 for semester exam;
continue reviewing chapters 1-5 for the semester exam

Tuesday, December 11

finished test 5;
begin reviewing chapters 1-5 for the semester exam

Monday, December 10

began test 5 (will complete tomorrow);
begin reviewing chapters 1-5 for the semester exam


Friday, December 7

discussed quiz 5.2;
test 5 on Monday

Thursday, December 6

quiz 5.2;
test 5 on Monday

Wednesday, December 5

discussed problems from p. 352 (due tomorrow);
quiz 5.2 tomorrow

Tuesday, December 4

discussed multiple-angle and product-to-sum identities;
p.352 #2-12, 18-22, 24-26, 34, 38, 42, 44 even

Monday, December 3

discussed p.341;
read:  346-351 (multiple-angle and product-to-sum identities)


Friday, November 30

discussed quiz 5.1;
discussed sum and difference identities;
p.341 #2-6, 12-22, 24-28 even

Thursday, November 29

quiz 5.1;
briefly discussed sum and difference identities;
get started on p.341 #2-6, 12-22, 24-28 even

Wednesday, November 28

students verified their assigned trig identity, one at a time, in front of the class
quiz 5.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, November 27

discussed trigonometric identities;
worked problems from the p. 317 problem set;
worked problems from the p. 324 problem set;
assigned a single problem to each student from p.324 to be worked on the board by them tomorrow;

Monday, November 26

discussed trigonometric identities;
worked problems from the problem set;
p.317 #2-14, 18-24 even


Thursday, November 15

discussed test 4

Wednesday, November 14

test 4

Tuesday, November 13

discussed quiz 4.2;
test 4 tomorrow

Monday, November 12

quiz 4.2;
test 4 on Wednesday


Friday, November 9

reviewed the 2nd half of chapter 4;
quiz 4.2 on Monday over inverse trig functions, Law of Sines, Cosines, and Heron’s formula

Thursday, November 8

discussed the law of sines, cosines, and Heron’s formula;
p.298 #2-6, 10-16, 20-24, 28-32, 38-40 even

Wednesday, November 7

discussed quiz 4.1;
discussed inverse trigonometric functions;
p.288-289 #2-14, 20-24, 30-36, 50-54 even

Tuesday, November 6

quiz 4.1;
read:  pp.280-287 (inverse trigonometric functions)

Monday, November 5

discussed p.264 on graphing sine and cosine;
quiz 4.1 tomorrow


Friday, November 2

discussed graphs of sine and cosine;
p.264#2-18, 30-34 even

Thursday, November 1

discussed p.238-240;
discussed the unit circle and trigonometric ratios;
p.251 #2-8, 10-16, 26-32, 44-58 even

Wednesday, October 31

discussed p.227;
defined/discussed the unit circle;
contrasted radians with degrees;
p.238-240 #2-4, 10-18, 28-38, 42 even

Tuesday, October 30

discussed test 3;
briefly reviewed right-triangle geometry;
p.227 #2-14, 20-26, 32-38 even

Monday, October 29

test 3;
read:  pp.220-225 (right-triangle geometry)


Friday, October 26

discussed best-fitting logarithmic and exponential curves to scatter plots with Excel;
test 3 on Monday

Thursday, October 25

quiz 3.2;
test 3 on Monday

Wednesday, October 24

discussed p. 196 HW;
quiz 3.2 tomorrow over logarithmic and exponential equations

Tuesday, October 23

quiz over exponentials and logarithms;
read:  190-195 (logarithmic equations)
p.196 #2-6, 22-26, 30-34, 49, 50-54, 60-64, 68 even

Monday, October 22

reviewed exponentials and logarithms;
quiz 3.1 tomorrow


Tuesday, October 16

no class, due to senior class trip and junior history trip

Monday, October 15

no class, due to senior class trip and junior history trip


Friday, October 12

discussed p.185 problems;
worked a variety of word problems dealing with logarithms

Thursday, October 11

discussed log and exponential identities;
worked problems from the HW set;
p.185 #2-16, 20-24, 30, 32, 40, 42, 50-54  even

Wednesday, October 10

discussed logarithms as the inverse function of exponential functions;
worked problems from the HW set;
p.178 #2-26 even

Tuesday, October 9

discussed last night’s HW;
read:  pp.172-177 (logarithms)

Monday, October 8

discussed test 2;
discussed/demonstrated exponentials;
p.166 #2-8, 12-16 even, 22, 24, 36, 37, 39


Friday, October 5

test 2;
read:  pp.158-165 (exponentials)

Thursday, October 4

discussed quiz 2.2;
test 2 tomorrow

Wednesday, October 3

quiz 2.2;
test 2 on Friday

Tuesday, October 2

discussed problems from p.138 & p.145 (due tomorrow);
quiz tomorrow over the 2nd half of chapter 2 (these two recent assignments)

Monday, October 1

discussed quiz 2.1 and  p.138 for those who were gone last week;
discussed non-linear inequalities;
p.145 #2-8, 18-22, 30-34 even


Friday, September 28

discussed homework on p. 138;
read:  pp. 141-144 (non-linear inequalities)

Thursday, September 27

discussed rational functions;
p.138 #2-6, 10-14, 20-26, 32-36 even

Wednesday, September 26

discussed Friday’s quiz;
briefly discussed rational functions;
read:  pp.130-137 (rational functions)

Tuesday, September 25

no class, due seniors being gone to assist hurricane victims and juniors testing

Monday, September 24

no class, due to View Southern & juniors testing


Friday, September 21

quiz on analysis of polynomials;

Thursday, September 20

continued discussing the details of finding zeros of polynomials;
quiz on analysis of polynomials tomorrow

Wednesday, September 19

continued discussing the details of finding zeros of polynomials;
continue working on p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even (due tomorrow)

Tuesday, September 18

discussed the details of finding zeros of polynomials;
p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even (due Thursday)

Monday, September 17

further discussed/demonstrated long division and synthetic division with polynomials;
p.115 #2-6, 16, 20-26, 32-36 even


Tuesday, September 11

discussed/demonstrated long division and synthetic division with polynomials;
p.115 #2-6, 16, 20-26, 32-36 even (due next Tuesday)

Monday, September 10

discussed analysis of polynomials;
p.104 #4-8, 12-18, 24-30 even


Friday, September 7

discussed power and radical functions;
p.92 #2-8, 18-24 even

Thursday, September 6

discussed test 1;
if you haven’t already, read:  pp.86-91 (power and radical functions)

Wednesday, September 5

test 1;
read:  pp.86-91 (power and radical functions)

Tuesday, September 4

discussed quiz 1.2;
reviewed chapter 1;
test over chapter 1 tomorrow

Monday, September 3

quiz 1.2;
test over chapter 1 on Wednesday


Friday, August 31

reviewed the 2nd half of chapter 1;
quiz 1.2 on Monday;
test over chapter 1 on Tuesday

Thursday, August 30

discussed/illustrated inverse functions;
p.70 #2-20 even

Wednesday, August 29

briefly discussed function transformations;
discussed arithmetic with functions and function composition;
p.61#2-18, 16-32 even

Tuesday, August 28

briefly discussed yesterday’s quiz on what we’ve done so far in chapter 1;
discussed/demonstrated transformations on functions;
p.52 #2-10, 20, 22, 32-36 even

Monday, August 27

quiz on what we’ve done so far in chapter 1;
read: pp. 45-51 (transformations on functions)


Friday, August 24

discussed last night’s HW set;
reviewed what we’ve done so far in chapter 1;
quiz Monday

Thursday, August 23

discussed last night’s HW set (due tomorrow);
discussed maxima, minima, and average rates of change;
p. 40 #2-8, 12-16, 34-38 even

Wednesday, August 22

discussed last night’s HW set;
discussed limits and continuity;
p. 30 #2-10, 14, 16, 22-28 even

Tuesday, August 21

discussed last night’s HW set;
discussed point and line symmetry, even and odd functions;
discussed problems from the HW set;
pp. 19 #10-28 even

Monday, August 20

discussed chapter 0 test;
reviewed the concept of a function;
worked examples from the HW set;
pp. 9-11 #2-10,18-28, 30-32, 40-44, 48, 50 even


Friday, August 17

chapter 0 test;
read:  pp. 4-8 (functions)

Thursday, August 16

reviewed chapter 0;
large quiz (short test) over chapter 0 tomorrow

Wednesday, August 15

discussed doing statistical calculations with a spreadsheet;
p. P37 #2-10 even

Tuesday, August 14

discussed homework;
discussed permutations and combinations;
p. P31 #2-20 even

Monday, August 13

discussed homework;
discussed roots;
p. P17 #2-22 even


Friday, August 10

discussed properties of quadratic equations and solving them;
p. P13 #8, 10, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 42, 46

Thursday, August 9

discussed complex numbers and arithmetic with them;
p. P8 #2-32, 38-42 even

Wednesday, August 8

discussed pretest over Algebra II concepts;
discussed set notation and set operations;
p. P5 #2-30 even

Tuesday, August 7

pretest over Algebra II concepts;
read:  pp. P3-P4 (sets)

Monday, August 6

explained course content;
reviewed Algebra II concepts;
pretest tomorrow