Physics Assignments Blog

/Physics Assignments Blog
Physics Assignments Blog2018-12-07T18:06:33+00:00

Course Description
Equations
science links
uncertainty calculator

Friday, December 7

discussed problems from the problem set;
further discussed/demonstrated Bernoulli’s principle;
look over lab handout for the Specific Heat lab for Monday

Thursday, December 6

went and observed some pneumatic equipment in the woodshop;
discussed/demonstrated Bernoulli’s principle

Wednesday, December 5

discussed the gas laws;
reviewed pressure;
discussed Pascal’s principle and its applications

Tuesday, December 4

reviewed pressure and various pressure units;
worked a problem involving Archimedes’ principle;
quiz on Archimedes’ principal;
looked at a problem from the problem set

Monday, December 3

worked problems involving Archimedes’ principle;
defined/discussed pressure and various pressure units;
 p. 369-371 #76, 77, 78, 80, 82, 88, 91, 96, 100;
read:  pp. 359-363 (solids)


Friday, November 30

reviewed statistical probabilities governing the 2nd law of thermodynamics;
discussed density, buoyancy, and Archimedes’ principle;
start working on p. 369-371 #76, 77, 78, 80, 82, 88, 91, 96, 100;
read:  pp. 359-363 (solids)

Thursday, November 29

reviewed heat engine animations;
discussed refrigeration and heat pumps;
discussed the statistical probabilities governing the 2nd law of thermodynamics;
read:  pp. 341-348 (fluids)

Wednesday, November 28

finished collecting data for the Torque lab;
discussed heat engine animations;

Tuesday, November 27

worked problem on thermal conduction;
worked problem on thermal expansion;
collected data for the Torque lab

Monday, November 26

worked problems from the chapter 12 problem set (due tomorrow);
discussed/demonstrated thermal conduction;
discussed/demonstrated thermal expansion;
get started on chapter 13 problems:  pp.369-371 #76, 77, 78, 80, 82, 88, 91, 96, 100 (due Friday):
look over the Torque lab handout for tomorrow


Thursday, November 15

worked more calorimetry problems;
quiz on calorimetry

Wednesday, November 14

worked more with calorimetry;
discussed the Forces Lab write-up;
discussed phase change, sensible heat, & latent heat;
chapter 12 problems:  pp. 336-337 #52-64 even (due Tuesday, 11-27)

Tuesday, November 13

discussed/demonstrated calorimetry;
chapter 12 problems:  pp. 336-337 #52-64 even (due Tuesday, 11-27)

Monday, November 12

discussed test 10 & 11;
discussed thermometry;
contrasted temperature with thermal energy;
discussed evaporative cooling;
read:  pp.323-331 (phase change and thermodynamics)


Friday, November 9

no class, due Gymnix trip

Thursday, November 8

no class, due to OnToCollege ACT review

Wednesday, November 7

no class, due to OnToCollege ACT review

Tuesday, November 6

test 10 & 11;
read:  pp.313-322 (temperature and thermal energy)

Monday, November 5

worked problems involving conservation of energy from the problem set;
finished Einstein’s Big Idea;
test 10 & 11 tomorrow 


Friday, November 2

discussed/demonstrated conservation of energy with a pendulum;
worked problems involving conservation of energy;
watched the fifth segment (starting at 1:08:15) of Einstein’s Big Idea;
test 10 & 11 next Tuesday 

Thursday, November 1

collected data for the Forces lab;
discussed simple machines;
worked problems involving conservation of energy;
test 10 & 11 next Tuesday 

Wednesday, October 31

discussed test 8 & 9;
worked some problems from the problem set;
watched the fourth segment (^2; 55:25 to 1:08:15) of Einstein’s Big Idea;
problem set 11:  p.307-309 #54, 60, 62, 64, 70, 72, 74, 78, 80, 82 

Tuesday, October 30

worked some problems from the problem set;
defined/discussed conservation of energy;
briefly discussed the Forces lab;
briefly discussed simple machines;
watched the third segment (c; 42:40 to 55:25) of Einstein’s Big Idea;
start on problem set 11:  p.307-309 #54, 60, 62, 64, 70, 72, 74, 78, 80, 82 

Monday, October 29

defined/discussed power;
did horsepower activity on the stairs;
watched the second segment (m; from 23:55 to 42:40) of Einstein’s Big Idea;
read:  285-292 (forms of energy)


Friday, October 26

reviewed work, kinetic energy, gravitational potential energy, & elastic potential energy;
briefly discussed simple machines;
watched the first segment (E; up to 23:55) of Einstein’s Big Idea;
read:  266-273 (simple machines);
problem set 10:  p.278-281 #52, 56, 58, 64, 66, 70, 74, 82, 86 (due Wednesday)

Thursday, October 25

discussed work, kinetic energy, gravitational potential energy, & elastic potential energy;
if you haven’t already, read:  257-265 (work, energy, & power)

Wednesday, October 24

test 8 & 9;
read:  257-265 (work, energy, & power)

Tuesday, October 23

quiz on conservation of linear momentum;
worked problems from chapter 9;
test 8 & 9 tomorrow

Monday, October 22

reviewed chapters 8 & 9;
quiz tomorrow on conservation of momentum;
test 8 & 9 on Wednesday


Tuesday, October 16

no class, due to senior class trip

Monday, October 15

no class, due to senior class trip


Friday, October 12

discussed problems from the problem set;
analyzed a 2-D collision

Thursday, October 11

no class, due to the college fair

Wednesday, October 10

discussed conservation of angular momentum;
played around with gyroscopes and the bicycle wheel
watched The Mechanical Universe on Conservation of Angular Momentum;

keep working on chapter 9 problems;
test 8 & 9 will not occur this Friday, due to the college fair tomorrow

Tuesday, October 9

quiz on rotational inertia;
watched/discussed The Mechanical Universe on conservation of momentum;
test 8 & 9 on Friday

Monday, October 8

discussed chapter 8 problems;
defined/discussed linear momentum and impulse;
defined/discussed angular momentum and angular impulse;
chapter 9 problems:  pp.251-253 #56, 59, 62, 66, 67, 74, 77, 79 (due Friday)
quiz tomorrow on rotational inertia


Friday, October 5

worked statics problems;
discussed a problem from the problem set;
read:  pp. 229-235 (impulse and momentum)

Thursday, October 4

defined/discussed torque, vector cross products, and the right hand rule;
discussed problems from the problem set;
read 211-217 (equilibrium)

Wednesday, October 3

quiz over rotational acceleration;
discussed/demonstrated rotational inertia;
problems pp.223-225 #72-78 even, 82, 84, 87, 88

Tuesday, October 2

discussed equations for rotational motion along side those for linear motion;
worked a few problems involving rotational motion;
read:  pp.201-210 (rotational dynamics)

Monday, October 1

discussed test 6 & 7;
read:  pp.196-200 (describing rotational motion)


Friday, September 28

no class, due seniors being gone to assist hurricane victims

Thursday, September 27

no class, due seniors being gone to assist hurricane victims

Wednesday, September 26

no class, due seniors being gone to assist hurricane victims

Tuesday, September 25

no class, due seniors being gone to assist hurricane victims

Monday, September 24

no class, due to View Southern


Friday, September 21

test 6 & 7

Thursday, September 20

worked problems from the problems set;
quiz over orbiting satellites/moons;
test 6 & 7 tomorrow

Wednesday, September 19

collected data for the Sliding Friction Lab;
keep working on problem set 7:  pp.191-193 #54, 58, 62, 70, 76, 82, 84, 86 (due tomorrow);
test 6 & 7 on Friday

Tuesday, September 18

quiz over centripetal force;
discussed the physics of orbiting bodies;
discussed the details of doing the Sliding Friction Lab (for tomorrow);
keep working on problem set 7:  pp.191-193 #54, 58, 62, 70, 76, 82, 84, 86 (due Thursday)

Monday, September 17

watched the dropped/fired bullet thought experiment by Myth Busters;
discussed universal gravitation and centripetal force;
discussed Kepler’s 3 Laws of planetary motion;
read: pp.179-185 (using universal gravitation);
problem set 7:  pp.191-193 #54, 58, 62, 70, 76, 82, 84, 86 (due Thursday)


Tuesday, September 11

worked problems from the chapter 6 problem set;
discussed universal gravitation;
read: pp.179-185 (using universal gravitation)

Monday, September 10

worked problems from the chapter 6 problem set;
read:  171-178 (universal gravitation)


Friday, September 7

quiz on projectile motion;
discussed circular motion and centripetal force;
worked problems involving centripetal force;
keep working on chapter 6 problems:  pp. 165-167 #52, 56, 58, 60, 62, 66, 68, 74 (due Tuesday)

Thursday, September 6

pseudo-quiz on projectile motion;
worked problems involving projectiles;
demonstrated The Monkey and the Hunter;
chapter 6 problems:  pp. 165-167 #52, 56, 58, 60, 62, 66, 68, 74 (due Tuesday)

Wednesday, September 5

discussed projectile motion;
worked problems involving projectiles;
if you haven’t already, read: 153-159 (circular motion)

Tuesday, September 4

discussed test 4 & 5
read: 153-159 (circular motion)

Monday, September 3

test 4 & 5
read: 147-152 (projectile motion)


Friday, August 31

quiz over sliding friction;
worked some more friction problems involving acceleration on a slope;
test 4 & 5 Monday

Thursday, August 30

considered problems from the homework set;
worked some more friction problems involving angles;
test 4 & 5 postponed till Monday;
HW 5 due on Friday

Wednesday, August 29

considered problems from the homework set;
worked some friction problems involving angles;
test 4 & 5 postponed till Friday;
HW 5 due on Thursday

Tuesday, August 28

worked with extracted data from the video;
considered problems from the homework set;
test 4 & 5 postponed till Friday;
HW 5 due on Thursday

Monday, August 27

extracted acceleration data from the video;
considered problems from the homework set;
test 4 & 5 on Thursday


Friday, August 24

quiz on analytical vector addition;
discussed sliding friction;
considered problems from the homework set

Thursday, August 23

pseudo-quiz on analytical vector addition;
worked more vector addition examples;
considered problems from the homework set;
problem set 5:  pp. 141-143 #80, 82, 86, 90, 92, 96, 98, 104 (due Tuesday)

Wednesday, August 22

discussed graphical and analytical vector addition;
get started on problem set 5:  pp. 141-143 #80, 82, 86, 90, 92, 96, 98, 104 (due Tuesday)

Tuesday, August 21

saw video of feather and bowling ball in a vacuum chamber;
discussed chapter 4 problems;
discussed Density lab write-up (due tomorrow);
shot video for acceleration due to gravity lab;
read:  126-135 (forces and friction)

Monday, August 20

discussed test 1-3;
discussed/demonstrated Newton’s laws;
discussed and worked on Density lab write-up (due Wednesday);
chapter 4 problems:  p.113 #60, 64, 68, 70, 72, 76, & 80 (due Friday)


Friday, August 17

discussed test 1-3;
demonstrated Newton’s 1st law;
discussed and worked on Density lab write-up (due Wednesday);
read:  pp. 96-107 (Newton’s 2nd and 3rd laws of motion)

Thursday, August 16

test 1-3;
read:  pp. 87-95 (Newton’s first law of motion)

Wednesday, August 15

quiz on free-fall;
collected data for the Density Lab;
discussed some of the homework set problems;
test 1-3 on Thursday

Tuesday, August 14

quiz on acceleration;
discussed doing a Density Lab tomorrow;
discussed some of the homework set problems;
worked problems on acceleration and free-fall;
test 1-3 on Thursday

Monday, August 13

discussed some of the homework set problems;
worked problems on acceleration and free-fall;
test 1-3 on Thursday


Friday, August 10

further discussed velocity and acceleration, graphs and equations;
worked problems with acceleration;
Read pp. 65-75 (working with acceleration);
problems p. 81-84 #74, 78, 82, 84, 86, 88, 94, 100, 106, 110 (due Thursday)

Thursday, August 9

quiz over arithmetic with error terms;
discussed uncertainty worksheet (due tomorrow);
discussed some problems from problem set 1 (due tomorrow);
briefly discussed velocity and acceleration;
Read pp. 57-64 (acceleration)

Wednesday, August 8

worked examples of arithmetic using error terms from the worksheet;
discussed uncertainty when graphing;
discussed some problems from problem set 1;
continue working on the Uncertainty worksheet (due Friday)
Read pp. 43-47 (measuring speeds);
continue with problem set 1:  pp.25-28 #54, 60, 68, 70, 72, 76, 90 (due Friday)

Tuesday, August 7

worked examples of arithmetic using error terms;
discussed uncertainty during measurement;
begin working on front side of the Uncertainty worksheet;
Read pp. 31-42 (1-D motion);
problem set 1:  pp.25-28 #54, 60, 68, 70, 72, 76, 90 (due Friday)

Monday, August 6

passed out textbooks; explained course description;
discussed uncertainty during measurement;
Read pp. 3-14 (units & measurements)