Course Description
Vocabulary

Monday, April 22

reviewed arithmetic operators and Java data types;
reviewed details of writing a compound interest loan payment calculator;
quiz tomorrow over arithmetic operators and data types


Friday, April 19

reviewed arithmetic operators;
discussed details of writing a compound interest loan payment calculator

Thursday, April 18

discussed arithmetic operators and hierarchy of operations;
discussed/demonstrated using a Scanner object to retrieve information from the keyboard

Wednesday, April 17

discussed/demonstrated Java data types

Tuesday, April 16

reviewed machine language, assembly language, and high-level language;
introduced BlueJ;
wrote a first Java program

Monday, April 15

discussed the beginnings of electronic computing;
discussed/contrasted machine language, assembly language, and high-level language


Wednesday, April 10

quiz on Internet terminology;
viewed some of the completed websites

Tuesday, April 9

discussed more Internet terminology;;
finished creating a website;
terminology quiz tomorrow

Monday, April 8

discussed more Internet terminology;;
continued creating a website (due Tuesday);
terminology quiz on Wednesday


Friday, April 5

continued creating a website (due Tuesday)

Thursday, April 4

discussed more Internet terminology;
continued creating a website:  at least 3 pages, hyperlinks to similar pages in the Internet

Wednesday, April 3

discussed more Internet terminology;
continued creating a website:  at least 3 pages, hyperlinks to similar pages in the Internet

Tuesday, April 2

discussed Internet terminology;
continued creating a website:  at least 3 pages, hyperlinks to similar pages in the Internet

Monday, April 1

demonstrated setting up a slider plugin;
continued creating a website:  at least 3 pages, hyperlinks to similar pages in the Internet


Friday, March 29

looked at adjusting the settings of WordPress;
discussed getting & setting up a slider plugin;
began creating a website:  at least 3 pages, hyperlinks to similar pages in the Internet

Thursday, March 28

had show-N-tell with HTML documents;
looked more at WordPress

Wednesday, March 27

discussed the nature of a content management system;
began looking at WordPress;
show-N-tell with HTML page tomorrow

Tuesday, March 26

finished coding the HTML for a webpage, with at least 3 images, and at least 2 hyperlinks

Monday, March 25

continued coding the HTML for a webpage, with at least 3 images, and at least 2 hyperlinks


Friday, March 22

continued coding the HTML for a webpage, with at least 3 images, and at least 2 hyperlinks

Thursday, March 21

demonstrated working with hyperlinks;
began coding the HTML for a webpage, with at least 3 images, and at least 2 hyperlinks

Wednesday, March 20

demonstrated working with tables

Tuesday, March 19

demonstrated more HTML

Monday, March 18

had show-N-tell with video segments;
discussed/demonstrated basic HTML


Friday, March 15

finished working on producing a commercial;
video due 

Thursday, March 14

continued working on producing a commercial;
video due tomorrow (the end of the grading period)

Wednesday, March 13

continued working on producing a commercial;
video due this Friday (the end of the grading period)

Tuesday, March 12

continued working on producing a commercial;
video due this Friday (the end of the grading period)

Monday, March 11

continued working on producing a commercial;
video due this Friday (the end of the grading period)


Friday, March 1

outlined the process of making a video;
continued working on producing a commercial

Thursday, February 28

worked on producing a commercial

Wednesday, February 27

discussed video glossary;
worked on producing a commercial;
review video vocabulary glossary (quiz Friday)

Tuesday, February 26

looked at some of the features of iMovie;
continued working on a storyboard for a “commercial” to be produced;
review video vocabulary glossary (quiz Friday)

Monday, February 25

discussed/demonstrated working with different microphones when recording audio/video;
continued working on a storyboard for a “commercial” to be produced;
passed out video vocabulary glossary (quiz Friday)


Friday, February 22

glanced at the Macintosh environment and at iMovie;
worked on creating a storyboard for a “commercial” to be produced

Thursday, February 21

continued working on self-portraits

Wednesday, February 20

discussed/demonstrated the dodging tool and the burning-in tool;
finished working on self-portraits;

Tuesday, February 19

continued working on self-portraits;

Monday, February 18

continued working on self-portraits;


Friday, February 15

quiz on imaging terminology;
continued working on self-portraits

Thursday, February 14

finished colorizing a monochrome or color-damaged family photo;
began working on self-portraits;
quiz postponed until tomorrow

Wednesday, February 13

finished colorizing a monochrome or color-damaged family photo;
made self-portraits for the next task;
quiz tomorrow

Tuesday, February 12

continued reviewing image terminology (quiz Thursday);
continued colorizing a monochrome or color-damaged family photo

Monday, February 11

reviewed image terminology (quiz Wednesday);
continued colorizing a monochrome or color-damaged family photo


Friday, February 8

further demonstrated how to select portions of a monochrome image and color them;
began colorizing a monochrome or color-damaged family photo

Thursday, February 7

demonstrated how to select portions of a monochrome image and color them;
bring in an old family photo for colorization or color repair;

Wednesday, February 6

show & tell with fixed photos;
bring in an old family photo for colorization or color repair;

Tuesday, February 5

many were absent, due to sickness;
finished working on fixing a photo with flaws

Monday, February 4

many were absent, due to sickness;
continued working on fixing a photo with flaws


Friday, January 25

many were absent, due to Acrofest;
listened to additional cartoon voices that were finished;
continued working on fixing a photo with flaws

Thursday, January 24

listened to additional cartoon voices that were finished;
discussed/demonstrated some of the editing tools in Photoshop;
continued working on fixing a photo with flaws

Wednesday, January 23

listened to the cartoon voices that were finished;
discussed/demonstrated some of the editing tools in Photoshop;
began working on fixing a photo with flaws

Tuesday, January 22

no class today, due to English field trip

Monday, January 21

discussed/demonstrated cleaning up speech recordings;
finished up creating a cartoon voice;
let’s be finished by the start of class on Tuesday


Friday, January 18

continued work on creating a cartoon voice;
let’s be finished by the start of class on Tuesday

Thursday, January 17

explored various audio filters;
began work on creating a cartoon voice

Wednesday, January 16

quiz over audio terminology;
listened to some of the finished work

Tuesday, January 15

discussed audio terminology handout;
finished working on the put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project;
audio vocabulary quiz tomorrow

Monday, January 14

continued working on the put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project;
audio vocabulary quiz on Wednesday


Friday, January 11

no class, due to community service day

Thursday, January 10

continued working on the put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project

Wednesday, January 9

reviewed more audio terminology;
continued working on the put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project

Tuesday, January 8

reviewed some more audio terminology;
continued working on the put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project

Monday, January 7

reviewed some audio terminology;
began working on a put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project


Friday, January 4

discussed/demonstrated simple audio editing;
began writing a script for a put-words-in-someone’s-mouth audio editing project;
collect an audio sample for your project

Thursday, January 3

discussed the nature of audio;
worked a little with Audacity on improving an audio clip;
demonstrated cut, copy, and paste with an audio timeline

Wednesday, January 2

overview of the course:
    -audio editing
    -photo editing
    -video editing
    -web page development
    -programming
discussed our need to be familiar with the vocabulary;
mentioned working with Audacity